

Awards Committee Standard Operating Procedures

Last revised 6/30/2020

Mission: The CPDD Awards Committee is responsible for six awards given by the organization: the Nathan B. Eddy Memorial Award, the Marian Fischman Lectureship Award for An Outstanding Woman Scientist, the Joseph Cochin Young Investigator Award, the J. Michael Morrison Award, the CPDD Mentorship Award, and the Innovator Award (see below). The Awards Committee administers all but the CPDD/NIDA Media Award. The Media Award is delegated to the Communications Committee.

Committee Members: The President-Elect of CPDD appoints the committee; a committee chair is also designated. Each committee member usually serves a three-year term and the number of members is odd in order to eliminate the potential for tie votes. There must be a forced choice among nominations so that a tie with two winners will not be acceptable. In agreeing to be appointed to the committee, the committee member agrees that she/he will not be a candidate for any award during the term of their Awards Committee Membership. Further, they agree that their spouse or partner or member of their immediate family would be ineligible to be nominated for an award while the member is serving their term on the committee. Committee members should not be involved in any award nomination during their term on the committee, and any real or perceived conflict of interest must be disclosed to the chair.

Committee Operations: A call for nominations is issued in the annual meeting announcement and should be posted at each annual meeting and continued on the website. In addition, the chair sends letters to the nominators whose nominees did not win, reminding them that they can renominate a former candidate. The letter will state that this does not imply that the candidate will win since it is based on merit and the candidates vary each year. The announcements include the description of the six awards, the due date, and the link for submitting nomination packets. Five awards are given every year (Eddy, Fischman, Cochin, Mentorship, Media) and two are given every other year (Morrison, Innovator). The announcements will clearly state that merit is the primary criterion, diversity is encouraged, and all discussions of the Awards committee are confidential. Individuals can only nominate one person for an award, but are permitted to submit nominations for more than one award, with the restriction that he/she cannot nominate the same person for more than one award in the same year. Separate letters for each nominee are required; one letter signed by several nominators will not be accepted. A separate list of publications is no longer required; this information can be derived from the CV. Completed nominations are due by February 1 and must be submitted electronically via the CPDD website. Late or incomplete nominations are not considered. The Awards Committee must solicit at least two nominations per award. Approximately one to two weeks after the nomination deadline, the Committee Chair electronically sends completed applications, instructions for scoring, and a score sheet to all Awards Committee members. Each member chooses among the applicants in each category and sends their choices to the Chair according to the scoring system designated by the chair (current scoring system is rank ordering of all candidates for each award with 1 being the highest merit). The primary

criterion for the rank ordering is merit.

CPDD Innovator Award and Symposium SOP: The Innovator Award sponsored by Indivior, Inc. will recognize individuals who have recently developed innovative approaches in basic science, clinical research, or treatment and prevention science that reflect ground-breaking strides with potential for significant impact in the field of drug dependence. Such innovation could be in methodological approaches or paradigms, drug or assay discoveries, drug delivery, laboratory procedures, analytic methods, conceptual advances, treatment approaches components, prevention strategies or applications, etc. The Innovator Award is not meant to be recognition of lifetime achievement. Emphasis is placed on recent innovation and potential impact rather than a lifetime body of work.

Nominations for the award will be **solicited** from the membership by the Executive Office beginning in early November. The deadline for submission is **February 1**. Nominees will be reviewed by the Executive Committee, who will select up to 3 candidates to forward to the Awards Committee for final selection of the awardee. Prior to submission to the Awards Committee, the nominees must agree to attend the CPDD meeting for 2 consecutive years.

The Executive Committee will consult with the Chair of the Awards Committee to ensure that no one in the selection process has a real or perceived conflict of interest with the sponsor of the award or the nominees. Any member of the Awards Committee with such conflict will be recused from discussions related to the award.

We anticipate that an Awardee would be selected every other year (at the discretion of the Executive Committee; interval may be longer if nominations not deemed substantially innovative). The award would consist of an acknowledgement plaque or statue and a payment of \$10,000 to the Awardee. In addition, the award would include registration waiver, travel expenses (air, mileage, transfers) to the conference, and three nights of accommodation at the conference hotel.

The *following year*, the Awardee would be expected to deliver a lecture in the context of a symposium at the annual meeting: e.g., 45-minute lecture flanked by three 20-minute related talks. The Awardee would select the symposia participants, with assistance from the Executive Committee if requested.

Travel expenses (up to \$1000) and registration would be provided for the symposium participants and the awardee. The awardee would be strongly encouraged to select junior investigators to participate in the symposium at the annual CPDD meeting.